Top subscribe filter_none issues my account search apps login google-plus facebook instagram twitter pinterest youtube lock

16 Affirmations for Coping With Grief

May these affirmations offer some comfort as you go through the grieving process and strive for deeper meaning.

Woman facing water at sunset


Sometimes we talk of “managing” grief, and it’s true, there is no shortage of grief management programs, but I find this a rather strange concept. Grief is an emotion so deep, so ever changing, it’s like the ocean—and one cannot manage the ocean. You can encounter the ocean, observe the ocean, respect the ocean, ride on the ocean, even predict—though not always—what the ocean will do. It will overtake. It will recede. So, too, it is with grief. It is a huge and fluid thing.

Dealing with grief and loss is as natural as water is to the planet, a part of life intrinsic to our experience not just as humans but as life forces of any shape. But it’s still wretched, isn’t it? That it’s commonplace doesn’t make our hearts break less. If we’re supported, though, and careful navigators, it is possible to emerge from the ocean of grief with newfound resiliency. May these affirmations offer some comfort as you go through that process and strive for deeper meaning.

  1. I allow myself to feel this fully, to be here.  
  2. I let go of my resistance to this situation.
  3. I’ll never be the same person again, yet, that is okay.
  4. I’m surrounded by support, seen and unseen.
  5. I choose to heal my hurt spirit.
  6. I’m not going to hold back.
  7. I can still see the love in the world.
  8. I’m moving through grief, and on to other emotions.
  9. I can hold onto the love, and let go of the grief.
  10. The universe lifts me, supports me, guides me.
  11. I can accept help when it’s offered.
  12. Today, I choose to heal.
  13. I can pay tribute by living my own life in a beautiful way.
  14. I’m so grateful our paths crossed.
  15. I am gentle with myself as I heal.
  16. I focus on my blessings, goals and memories.

What affirmations do you use when you are feeling grief? Share with us in the comments section.

Kathryn Drury Wagner is a writer and editor based in Los Angeles. Her latest book is Hawaii’s Strangest, Ickiest, Wildest Book Ever!, a science and natural history “gross out” for young readers.  

About the Author

Kathryn Drury Wagner

Spirituality & Health’s Wellbeing Editor, Kathryn Drury Wagner, is based in Savannah. She’s been a contributor to the magazine for many years, and she loves sharing ways to build a healthy, mindful, and sustainable lifestyle. 

Click here for more!

This entry is tagged with:
GrievingAffirmationsSelf-TalkEmotional Healing

Similar articles with the same tag:

Enlightening, Empowering, Innovative, Inspiring… Don’t Miss a Word!

Become a subscriber, or find us at your local bookstore, newsstand, or grocer.

Find us on instagram @SpiritHealthMag

Instagram @SpiritHealthMag

© 2021 Spirituality & Health

2021 Spirituality & Health (en-US) MEDIA, LLC